HWS Welcomes Newest Phi Beta Kappa Members – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS Welcomes Newest Phi Beta Kappa Members

This semester, 33 Hobart and William Smith students were elected to Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honors society, in recognition of their commitment to academic rigor across the liberal arts. The students will be inducted into the local chapter, Zeta of New York, on May 12 at 6:45 p.m. Join the Zoom ceremony here.

“Each of these students has demonstrated not only an impressive level of academic achievement, but also a spirited embrace of the liberal arts and of learning across multiple disciplines,” says Professor of Physics Donald Spector, the chapter president. “These are the values Phi Beta Kappa seeks to acknowledge, and we are fortunate to be able to recognize this accomplished cohort of students.”

Students are elected by the current membership, comprised of faculty and staff who were elected during their undergraduate careers. Selection is based on college standing, academic breadth, intellectual curiosity and personal character. They join a membership base that includes several past U.S. presidents, Supreme Court justices and Nobel laureates.

This year’s induction ceremony will feature a video by Associate Professor of Media and Society Leah Shafer. Keeping with tradition, there will be two toasts and remarks from faculty. Although distance prevents students from signing the book of Zeta Chapter inductees, which usually signifies their entrance to Phi Beta Kappa, Spector says faculty have planned a special interactive component as a substitute.

The gallery below includes photographs of the newly inducted Phi Beta Kappa members engaged in studies across the Colleges’ curriculum, completing and presenting research, as well as participating in field studies, studying abroad, playing sports and more.

Phi Beta Kappa seniors are: Claire Abelson ’20, Samuel Allen ’20, Joshua Andrews ’20, Joshua Barnes ’20, Olivia Bloch ’20, Abbey Brown ’20, Kelsea Brown ’20, Matthew Burnett ’20 (elected as a junior), Chloe Emler ’20 (elected as a junior), Meredith Fennell ’20, Abigail Frederick ’20 (elected as a junior), Madalyn Flood ’20, Michael Goulart ’20, Brianna Hurysz ’20, Ellis Linsmith ’20, Jesse Maltese ’20, Hugh McKenny ’20 (elected as a junior), James Monaco ’20, Anna Moreau ’20, Kelsey Pierce ’20, Angus Pratt ’20, Annaliese Schreder ’20, Shannon Smith ’20, Grace Stribling-Hough ’20, Tatianna Suriel ’20, Sarah Wiles ’20 and Mikaela Zallen ’20.

Six students received the society’s highest honor, having been elected during their junior year. This year, these inductees include: Walker Anderson ’21, Bailey DiSanto ’21, Shannon Drew ’21, Emma Hardee ’21, Claire Joshi ’21 and Olivia Rowland ’21.