NHL’s Pierre McGuire ’83 next up in HWS All-Access – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

NHL’s Pierre McGuire ’83 next up in HWS All-Access

Emmy award-winning sports personality Pierre McGuire ’83 will be the next guest on HWS All-Access. The discussion with the NHL on NBC “Inside-the-Glass” Analyst will be hosted by Hobart Head Hockey Coach Mark Taylor later this spring. The date for the discussion will be announced shortly. (The event was originally scheduled for May 27 but was postponed.)

CLICK HERE to register for the Zoom Webinar.

As one of the NHL’s most passionate and knowledgeable analysts, McGuire was awarded an Emmy in 2013 for Outstanding Sports Personality. In addition to his NHL coverage, McGuire has served as an “Inside-the-Glass” analyst for NBC Olympics’ coverage. He has broadcast from PeyongChang, Sochi, London and Vancouver.

Previously, he was the game analyst for TSN Canada’s national NHL broadcasts. In addition to his work on TSN’s NHL coverage, McGuire provided analysis for TSN’s coverage of the IHF World Junior Championship and NHL Entry Draft. He won the 2008 Gemini Award for Best Game Analyst for his work on the 2008 IHF World Junior Championship: Gold Final.

An English major, McGuire was a defenseman on the Hobart ice hockey team. He also played football and squash, and was a member of Theta Delta Chi fraternity. After graduation, he played professional hockey in Europe for a year before returning to Hobart to coach hockey. He has also coached at Babson College and St. Lawrence University, and served as a scout for the Pittsburgh Penguins, head coach of the Hartford Whalers and assistant coach in the Ottawa Senators organization.

In 20 seasons, Taylor has guided the Statesmen to a 329-166-52 record. He has guided Hobart to 18 consecutive winning seasons, his predecessors combined for four winning seasons. Under Taylor, the Statesmen have won six conference championships and been selected to the NCAA tournament 10 times, including six straight, the longest active streak in Division III. In 2019-20, the Hobart was 20-5-3 overall record. He has mentored 79 all-conference selections, 18 All-Americans and eight conference players of the year. Taylor has been named conference coach of the year six times.

The HWS All-Access series will continue each Wednesday throughout the summer. William Smith Head Basketball Coach Lindsay Sharman will be the next guest on June 3, followed by Hobart Head Basketball Coach Stefan Thopson ’13 on June 10.