Statesmen laxers honored for academics – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen laxers honored for academics

Twenty-four members of the Hobart College lacrosse team earned a spot on the 2018 Northeast Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll. Additionally, seven Statesmen represented the team on the NEC Spring Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

It’s the most student-athletes Hobart has placed on the Academic Honor Roll in five years in the NEC, and matches the program’s high water mark for the Commissioner’s Honor Roll—the Statesmen also had seven in 2016.

To earn a spot on the Northeast Conference Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.2. To merit a spot on the Commissioner’s Honor Roll, student-athletes must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or higher.

The following Statesmen were named to the Academic Honor Roll for their outstanding work in the classroom and on the field:

* Also named to Commissioner’s Honor Roll

Eighteen of Hobart’s honorees have earned a spot on the NEC Academic Honor Roll in previous seasons. Bardawill, Burr, Moore and Smith completed their collegiate careers as four time recipients. Flood, Gilbertson, Goltz, Grimaldi, Marquet, McTague, Schweiter, Skretny and Spallanzani are three-time honorees. Avedisian, Mann, Nolan, Sawyer and Spaan are being recognized for the second time.

Not only was Moore a four-time member of the academic honor roll, but he also merited four straight appearances on the commissioner’s honor roll. Bardawill, Goltz, Skretny and Smith are three-time honorees, while Flood and Marquet are two-time recipients.

Hobart faced a challenging schedule this season that included games against five teams ranked in the final USILA coaches poll (#8 Cornell, #10 Georgetown, #12 Syracuse, #15 Robert Morris, #20 Penn State) and five teams in the 17-team NCAA Championship field (Canisius, Cornell, Georgetown, Robert Morris and Syracuse). The Statesmen were 4-10 overall and 1-5 in the NEC. Five of the team’s losses were decided by three goals or less, including four by just a single goal.