William Smith Welcome with Dr. Abeshaus ’83, P’19 – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

William Smith Welcome with Dr. Abeshaus ’83, P’19

On Friday, May 17, the William Smith Alumnae Association will host the 42nd Annual Senior Welcome Toast, when the Class of 2019 is officially inducted into the community of alumnae.

WS_Welcome_5At 2:30 p.m., immediately following Commencement Rehearsal, students and alums will gather in the L. Thomas Melly ’52 Lobby at the Gearan Center for the Performing Arts, where Dr. Lisa Abeshaus ’84, P’19, a New Jersey-based obstetrician-gynecologist, will deliver the annual alumna speech. After earning her degree from William Smith, Abeshaus earned her medical degree with distinction from Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College and trained for her residency at St. Luke’s Roosevelt Program, where she later served as a faculty professor.

After an introduction from Associate Vice President for Alumnae Relations Kathy Killius Regan ’82, P’13, President of the Alumnae Association Julie Bazan ’93 will present the association’s awards and class announcements.

William Smith Dean Lisa Kaenzig will offer the traditional Dean’s Toast.

Ifunanya Okeke ’19, president of William Smith Class of 2019, will deliver the student speech.

The Class of 2019 and alumnae will then proceed to the William Smith Hill behind Smith Hall for the traditional tree planting ceremony in honor of the College’s founder, nurseryman William Smith, before closing remarks by HWS Chaplain Rev. Nita Byrd and Abbe Center Director Julianne Miller.