Phi Beta Kappa Students Inducted – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Phi Beta Kappa Students Inducted

As the academic year draws to a close, the Phi Beta Kappa Society at the Colleges welcomed its newest members into the Zeta of New York Chapter. Nominated by the current membership of faculty and staff who were a part of the honor society as undergraduates, the society’s newly elected juniors and seniors were acknowledged in an induction ceremony on Wednesday, May 9.

Based on college standing, academic breadth, intellectual curiosity and personal character, those selected as members of Phi Beta Kappa are amongst the brightest students in the nation. The most prestigious undergraduate honors organization in the nation, approximately one percent of students graduating from American colleges and universities are invited to join each year. 

“This year’s Phi Beta Kappa inductees represent the Colleges’ best and brightest: their commitment to academics is matched by their commitment to co-curricular activities, athletics, and service,” says Assistant Professor of Media and Society Leah Shafer, who currently serves as the Phi Beta Kappa chapter president. “When reading the outstanding biographical statements of this year’s Phi Beta Kappa class, I was struck by their articulate endorsements of the way that their liberal arts education generated intense intellectual energy around connections between and across disciplines.”

The year’s inductees from the Classes of 2012 include Wendi Bacon, Adam Brooks, Michael Copacino, Whitney Elrod, Courtney Good, Walter Green, Yanli Guo, Ellen Harvey, Chelsea Hudson, Patrick Kana, Natasha King, Ariella Korn, Kristen Kush, Constance Mandeville, Katherine Marino, William McConnell , Mark McInerney, Marcela Melara, Hannah Nickerson, Marleah Noonan, Kelly Patel, Wade Perkins, Mary Posman, Jamie Sawyer, Amil Shah, Christine Staulters, Josephine Stout, Haoyu Wang, Melissa Warner and Chuan Wu.

To be elected to Phi Beta Kappa as a junior undergraduate student is the highest honor the chapter can bestow upon a student. Members of the Classes of 2013 elected this year were Haley Dunn, Kristen Faughnan, Molly Krifka, Jillian McCarthy, Stephen Mugel and Deepak Vallabhaneni. 

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the nation. The organization recognizes academic excellence, intellectual engagement and liberal learning. Approximately 250 colleges and universities across the nation have been granted chapters.

Related Links