Miller ’91 in National LAX Hall of Fame – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Miller ’91 in National LAX Hall of Fame

Hobart College lacrosse alumnus Bill Miller ’91 will be inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame with the Class of 2013 on Saturday, Oct. 26. The eight-person class will be officially inducted in a ceremony, sponsored by Bollinger Sports Insurance and the Markel Insurance Company, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.
Miller was a four-time All-American at Hobart, earning first team honors in 1989, 1990 and 1991. Additionally, he was a two-time winner of both the USILA’s National Division III Player of the Year award and National Attackman of the Year award (1990, 1991). Miller helped lead Hobart to four NCAA Division III national championships during his career. He finished as Hobart’s all-time leader in goals (173) and ranks second in career assists (145) and career points (318).
Miller led the Statesmen in assists during all four of his seasons on campus, paced the team in points three straight seasons, and was the top goal scorer during his sophomore and senior campaigns. During the 1988 NCAA Championship run, Miller broke the NCAA tournament game record for assists with seven in a 19-6 rout of Roanoke in the semifinals. He finished the 1988 NCAA tournament with a record 17 assists in three games. Miller also tied the NCAA tournament record for most points with 23. He still holds both assist records.

Bill Miller ’91 – Career Statistics
Season GP G A Pts SH SH% SOG SOG% GB
1988 18 32 46 78 86 .372 64 .744 45
1989 19 55 31 86 153 .359 105 .686 80
1990 16 39 39 78 121 .322 81 .669 68
1991 14 47 29 76 157 .299 99 .631 70
TOTAL 67 173 145 318 517 .335 349 .675 263

Miller’s consistent excellence was rewarded with a lengthy list of awards at Hobart’s annual Block H Dinner. He earned the Lacrosse Rookie Award in 1988. In each of the next two seasons, Miller took home the William H. Dobbin ’40 Memorial Award as the team’s offensive MVP. As a senior, he was presented with the Judge Kane Memorial Award as the team’s MVP and the Francis L. “Babe” Kraus ’24 Memorial Award as Hobart’s most outstanding senior athlete.
Miller played professionally in the indoor NLL for the Philadelphia Wings from 1991-1998, and was MVP of the NLL’s championship game in 1998. He was also a two-time member of the U.S. Men’s National Team, helping Team USA to world championships in 1994 and 1998.
In 1997, Miller was inducted into the Hobart College Athletic Hall of Fame. He was inducted into the US Lacrosse Philadelphia/Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter Hall of Fame in 2002.
Miller will be the sixth former Hobart lacrosse player inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, joining Cyril De Cordova Brower ’21 (Class of 1959), Francis L. “Babe” Kraus ’24 (1964), Carlton J. Ferris ’37 (1971), William H. Dobbin ’40 (1972), and Herbert T. Fitch ’42 (1979). Additionally, four former Hobart coaches are enshrined in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame: Kraus, Buddy Beardmore (1980), Jerry Schmidt (1982), and Dave Urick (1998).
The other members of the 2013 induction class are: Jim Berkman, Quinn Carney, Michele DeJuliis, Sue Heether, Tracy Stumpf, Ryan Wade, and Michael Watson.

Tickets for the 2013 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be available to the public for purchase beginning Aug. 1. Tickets will be sold online at

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. More than 380 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located with the Lacrosse Museum at US Lacrosse Headquarters in Baltimore.