5 December 2023 • AlumsAthletics Arnoff Regatta Celebrates 10th Anniversary

HWS Sailing took first place at the annual race, which honors the late David Lee Arnoff ’82.

This fall marked the 10th anniversary of the David Lee Arnoff ’82 Regatta, named in memory of a loyal Hobart alum and passionate sailor who passed away unexpectedly in 2012. The annual race is accompanied by a dinner in Arnoff’s honor.

The Arnoff family joined staff, coaches and members of the HWS Sailing team for the regatta, where the team finished first, beating colleges and universities like the University of Pennsylvania, Cornell University and Princeton University. It was the seventh time in the regatta’s 10-year history HWS has won. 

“Every year the Hobart and William Smith Sailing team looks forward to the David Lee Arnoff Trophy Regatta,” says HWS Head Sailing Coach Scott Iklé. “It has become our fall family weekend. You can expect good sailing conditions and excellent competition. This year was special because it was the 10th running of the regatta, and the Arnoff family was able to be our honored guests for the weekend. It was fun to share the victory with the family.”

The previous evening, the family joined HWS athletics staff and coaches for a celebration dinner. The Arnoffs were presented with framed pictures of Seneca Lake, honoring David Arnoff’s love of sailing and the family’s commitment to the Colleges’ sailing program. The family also joined President Mark D. Gearan and Mary Herlihy Gearan for lunch during the regatta.

FURTHER TOGETHER: The Campaign for Our Third Century

Arnoff graduated with a bachelor’s degree in political science. Following his time in Geneva, Arnoff worked as a law clerk in New York City before building a career in IT. He also worked in the transportation industry, focusing on the management of systems including employment, human resources, security, insurance and technology.

Top: At the Bozzuto Boathouse, the Arnoff and Goldstein families gather with HWS Sailing Head Coach Scott Ilké ’84 before the 10th annual David Lee Arnoff Trophy Regatta.